6 procrastination methods and how to combat them

I hate to say it, but procrastination is one of my worst habits. If I have set myself a task for that day, for instance, finish a drawing I have started the day before I would literally rather do anything than that one drawing. I will happily do another drawing, art homework or sometimes. Even. English homework. But, ironically, if I have art homework due the next day I will happily draw anything but what I need to for art.

Anyway, since procrastination is a wide spread problem I have made a list of my top six procrastination methods and how to combat them

1.Watching friends.

I love friends and watch it way to much. I have the box set and have watched every single episode at least three times. See, if I’m doing homework and decide to give myself an undeserved break, I think to myself ‘I’ll just watch one episode… and another… just one more’ and end up watching an entire series. I am out of control.

You can combat this by making sure your TV or DVD is out of your site as if you can see or hear an object it makes the temptation much greater. You can also tell yourself that if you finish whatever your doing you can congratulate yourself by watching whatever it is that’s tempting you.

2. Social media.

A common causer of procrastination. It makes it even worse that my sister made the laptop automatically show facebook and twitter when you open up the internet. This means I find myself mindlessly browsing for hours instead of doing what I am supposed to.

You can combat this by making sure your computer does not show you facebook or alert you when you have a message. If you are being distracted by social media on your phone then either turn it or the alert off. If your phone makes a noise to tell you you have a facebook or text or email then you are much more tempted to check it and it takes the average person 20-40 minutes to regain concentration after checking social media.

3. music.

I tend to listen to music when I do everything, homework, cleaning, even in the shower. With some types of homework I find it useful, it tends to make me concentrate more as I am also enjoying it and not bored out of my mind. However, if I’m writing an essay and I have music on I end up either writing the lyrics down by accident or dancing around my room singing at the top of my voice.

You can combat this by either playing lyricless music or none at all. However, if I have no music on I find myself getting very  bored and restless but hey, everyone’s different.

5. Eating.

This is probably my worst one. The minute I become bored, I trick myself into thinking I’m hungry or thirsty or most of the time, both. I then take the longest time possible to make myself a cup of coffee and grab a biscuit just to avoid doing what I’m meant to. I often end up taking 20 minutes just to make a coffee by being ridiculously precise about the amount of water, coffee and milk, often using scales and measuring jugs in the process.

You can combat this by, just like the TV, hiding all food from your sight. If you can’t see or smell it, you won’t be tempted by it and won’t become hungry. I mean, it’s fine to have a cup of coffee while working just try not to take 20 minutes making it.

6. Blogging.

While trying to work, I will often have a sudden blogging idea and find myself either writing and posting it or scribbling it down in great detain in my english book. However, the minute I realize I haven’t posted in like a week I have no ideas and end up sitting and staring at my computer screen for hours on end with nothing to write.

Anyway, you can combat this by writing down an idea in notes. What I try to do if I have a sudden burst of creativity whilst doing something important is write it down in very vague and quick notes and write and post it when I have the time. This means my idea won’t be forgotten but also won’t interfere with things much more important than blogging.

So there you have it, 6 ways to procrastinate and how to combat them. I hope this maybe helped in some way? Anyway, go do something and stop procrastinating!

One thought on “6 procrastination methods and how to combat them

  1. Pingback: For the love of procrastination… | The Mind of a Modern Gentleman

Leave a comment